Authority Niche Site Challenge – Day 1

Ok I have been blogging for quite a few years and have had a ton of fun but I have suffered from a problem with blogging on a variety of topics and not sticking with any given blog for a long time!  I have a plan of starting an authority site in a niche I am quite fond of and have a personal connection to.

I want to make a niche blog that will rock the search engines and be filled with quality content.  I don’t have any design on making this into a huge money maker in the short term, but I will blog about my progress.  My first goal is to average $1 per day.  I will be targeting adsense and amazon commissions for this goal and hope to achieve this by the end of October.  The next goal after that will be $5 per day.  The timeline for that level of income from this niche site will be determined once I achieve my first goal.

I have started this site as a challenge to myself to stick with one site for a longer period of time without abandoning it.  It is a hobby niche in which people are pretty willing to spend money.  I was able to find a rather broad domain name (only two words) with a .org extension which was surprising in all reality.

I know how to set up basic wordpress sites and that is what I am using for this niche site challenge.

How am I going to achieve my goals?  I will consistently write both quality content on my site and do consistent article marketing from a few different sources of backlinks. I will use ezine articles, streetarticles, squidoo, whizley, and posterous.  More specifically, once the initial research is completed, each day I will write one super high quality, well researched post on my site and one article that will be used for a backlink.  I will also do a few blog comments and forum profiles each day as well but only if I have time left over.

I got the push to do this since I recently joined wealthy affiliate internet marketing site.  There is tons of quality lessons there and I get daily emails with a task for the day too!

Let the journey begin…

2 comments on “Authority Niche Site Challenge – Day 1

  1. Alex says:

    Are you going to post any updates? I love reading about challenge projects 🙂 So exciting to see how people start up and expand.

  2. clefty says:

    I will do so. My main site I was doing this for went into a google dance for a month or so and I started backlinking less and posting more regularly to the actual site. Trying to get the traffic back up to the 80~ views per day range then I will start slowly increasing the backlinks again.

Leave a comment